And now I’m sick

We had high hopes of getting somewhere this week with the organization, as well as getting rid of things that are quickly losing their charm as we have to move them each and every time we  need something.  So, I guess the Ladies of Fate decided it was time to throw a wrench in the works.  I am sick.

Oh yeah, one of those classic late summer colds, the sorts that go straight to your chest, and kick your butt into the middle of last week.  I slept all day yesterday, I slept all  night, and I feel like someone has been shoving a high pressure hose up my nose the entire time.  I’m also feeling pathetic, which isn’t helping.

It’s a mess.  I should be doing some housework, putting away things, sweeping the floor, etc.  Instead, I whine and go back to bed.  To make it even better, the van’s starter went out, leaving us without a functional vehicle.  GM’s not a mechanic, but he’s having to play the part anyhow, because there is no room in the budget for a mechanic’s shop.  I can’t help but feel sorry for him, it’s been a frustrating job so far, and the new starter hasn’t arrived yet.

That nine pound beauty is scheduled (according to UPS, not the stork!) to arrive tomorrow sometime.  I am really and truly looking forward to its arrival and GM getting it installed.  The combination of being technically “homeless” and then our sole vehicle breaking down has not done anything for my sense of security.  All I can say is that I am thankful we have bicycles, and that I need to be in better shape.

This cold at least explains why I was not doing well with our short walks on Monday, which had me really wondering what was wrong with me.  I was hot, my chest felt peculiar, my  head felt peculiar, and I was tired too soon.  Being thirsty didn’t explain how dry my throat felt either.  (Monday we went with CDA to scout out a couple of potential camping locations for a group camp out we have coming up.)

One thing I’ve discovered about the downsizing is that if things are not in their place, I have absolutely no clue where they are and it is literally impossible to find them.  I put the crimping pliers for making ethernet cables somewhere.  I’ve been looking for them for two weeks.  Seriously.  In a 8×30 ft trailer, I have been searching for cable crimping pliers…for 2 weeks.  Haven’t seen a single sign of them.  Now I’ve put the ends somewhere, so lord only knows if I’ll find THOSE when I find the pliers.

We also have a broken drawer.  Not that its new, because it was broken when we got it.  To make things even more interesting, its not the right drawer.  The drawer in the hole in the cabinet is made for side roller drawers and the cupboard is made for center guide drawers.  It has already frustrated GM a few times, and I’m going to have to do the wifely nag routine because the way it is now…50% of my drawers in the kitchen are broken.  (Yeah, a whole two drawers, and one is broken.)

Next thing to go is the ironstone plates/bowls.  I’m nursing the shoulder injury, they are too heavy to lift into the cupboard or back down again.  They take up a lot of space too.  Our enameled tin plates from the camp gear aren’t working either, we can’t use those in the microwave.  I guess we’ll try Corell dishes?  Thinner, lighter, stack better and they won’t melt in the microwave either.

The great revelations of cold/flu induced thoughts might be hazardous.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in being sick, budget, dishes, drawers, housework, motor vehicle, organization, repairs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

