Busy times in a small package

October is flying past me like a breeze, and the weather has been gorgeous.  As for the downsizing, things have been chaotic, and we’ve discovered frayed tempers are a real hazard in close quarters.  I became a grandmother this week for the first time, and since it was a premature birth, there was a lot of stress and worry as my daughter approached that moment when the doctor announced it was time to move forward with a c-section.  Preeclampsia was a complication that no one could foresee, and everyone had been so concentrated on my daughter’s fragile health as the result of type 1 diabetes that it almost seemed a shock to have a “normal” complication arise.

My granddaughter is doing well, at a mere 4 lbs. 5 ozs, she’s almost downsized herself.  I know she is beautiful, and I’m told she looks like me.  I admit only to seeing that her eyebrows have the same distinctive shape as mine (and my daughter’s) and that she has dark hair at least for now.

With all of that, we’ve missed a lot of sleep, and the telephone has rung often in hours that the telephone rarely rings, resulting in both of us being tired.  Add in that the hospital is nearly an hour away, and the hours that we have spent on benches and chairs in waiting rooms, or in a labor & delivery room…oh yeah, we’re tired.  We are too old for all of that hanging around and waiting stuff!

All of the chaos has also meant that we were not home for much more than sleeping and making a mess.  We are a week away from the baby shower for my daughter and a Halloween party…and even though these are outdoor events, (obviously we can’t entertain in a travel trailer!) the trailer’s chaos has to be quickly tamed or I’ll be horribly shamed.  Cooler weather also means winter weather is just around the corner, and with the arrival of the baby, my family will also be coming to see the new mom and daughter.  It also provides everyone a chance to satisfy their curiosity about our lives in the tin can.

Somehow, everything has to fit, and I have to find our winter clothes, which are apparently packed in the storage unit.  I think.

When using a storage unit, it becomes very difficult to remember what is where.  Much of the storage in a travel trailer is not easily accessed, like under the bed or benches at the dinette.  As I approach my “senior” years, its more physically demanding than I like to admit to access those areas as well.  Documenting what you have stored where allows you to find the needed items more quickly, and organization in the storage unit is critical.  (Ours is only 10×10).    Too bad I hadn’t thought of all of this chaos before, but to be honest, I had planned on taming this beast sooner.

We also still need to get this beast on her diet.  We are over weight and looking at moving it to another location is a frightening thought.  Some things, we accept would have to be moved and repacked when the travel trailer is on the road, as we have modified her temporarily with portable pieces.  Not attached, they would shift and create a huge mess while traveling down the highway.  Other items would have to be removed entirely for travel.

Big storage problems are tools.  Where do you put them where they are easily accessed, secure, weather safe, and yet out of the way?  GM has way too  many to even dream of just keeping them in the van, and yet if he works on the van, he has to borrow a large number of tools.  That’s a huge problem.

In the meantime, we are trying to think of something that is easily stored compactly to use as skirting around the trailer to help insulate it against winter winds sucking the heat out from under the floor beneath our feet.  We saw some very thin foam insulation that folds accordion style that we could use, and I thought that if we put down stakes with cord stretched between them, the folding foam sheet could be attached to the cord via zip-ties and to the trailer by almost anything from velcro to double sided tape or even duct tape.  GM was worried about dogs & cats using the space as their home, but I’m not anticipating much of an issue with that being any different than if we were permanently in place and had metal skirting–if they want to move in, there is NOTHING that will stop them.  A box of moth balls, however, will almost invariably encourage them to relocate.

 

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, emotions, housework, motor vehicle, organization, repairs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

