Swinging a cat?

It’s party time, and you are the hostess with the mostess.  Along come your guests…and guess what?

There isn’t enough lubricants in the world to turn your travel trailer into a party boat.  The manufacturer may say “sleeps 8” but the people that they are talking about must be silent and very tiny.  Our 30 foot trailer theoretically sleeps 6 comfortably.  Their idea of “comfort” and mine aren’t in the same neighborhood.  If you stuck 4 more people in here with GM & I, someone would have to die, and quickly.

Maybe I have larger “personal space” than most, maybe I have a lower tolerance for crowded spaces, but 4 more people in here and I’d be looking for an oxygen tank to avoid the “used air” syndrome.  Travel trailers are not designed to entertain.  So what then?

The party moves outdoors.  Rain or shine, winter or summer, mosquitoes or gnats…it’s going to have to happen outside.  So now we have a new dilemma.  Our travel trailer did not come with a canopy.  Have you priced canopies for recreational vehicles?

Although they are less convenient and perhaps indicate that we’re not among the upper crust of the recreational vehicle/travel trailer world, there are less expensive alternatives, and at least temporarily, we’re going to have to utilize one of them.  The lowest price option, coming in at about $100 for a small reasonably sturdy model, is the free standing canopy, such as a 10×10 “First Up.”  Another option is the pole framed temporary ‘garages’ which are priced at around $250 on up, depending on size and the cover.  These are probably NOT a good option for a traditional RV park, and they are incredibly bulky, but they are designed for longer term standing than the 10×10 self contained canopies, as well as much larger.  With peaked roofs and straight sides, they have a typical shape that most of us are comfortable with too.  We’ve borrowed one for now, to accomplish a temporary entertaining space, and then it will become a “garage” for some more extensive vehicle repairs on the van with weather protection for the entire vehicle, as well as GM while he is working on it.  Our warm dry fall weather is winding down, and the wind definitely has a chill in it.

Coming in at about 10×20, it offers shade, and tomorrow has good weather for its forecast, so we’re not worried about protection from potential rain.  Beneath it’s cover, we’ll set up a few tables, put on our table cloths, set out our food & utensils, and erect every camp chair we’ve got.

Since its for a baby shower for my daughter & granddaughter, we’ve got the oddest theme for any shower–Halloween.

I made a blueberry cheesecake, a pumpkin cheesecake, and a chocolate-peanut butter cheesecake with sour cream topping.  I purchased a chocolate cake.  We’re having sandwiches, chips, dip, and the dessert items, along with soda pop and coffee to drink.  I’m so ill prepared that I feel guilty already.  I still need to come up with games.  I forgot the ice.  I forgot the prizes for the games too.  I should be shot.  I’ll figure it out  somehow yet.  Maybe I’ll make the grand prize that I cook for someone?  I don’t know yet.  I’ll have to figure THAT out!

On the heels of the baby shower, I have another function the following day.  I’m to give a demonstration of cooking over the campfire.  I have no idea yet what I’m going to cook.  I know it will include bean soup, cornbread, a loaf of yeast bread…what else? Biscuits?  My budget is having seizures.

I do know that we’re going to have to relocate the shelter from Saturday to a different location for the Sunday function, as we’re not having a fire on Saturday, but we need a fire pit for Sunday.  I also need to con the guys into going somewhere and digging me some cattail roots for Sunday.  I’ve never eaten them, but they are edible…and will make an interesting side note whether we find them tasty or not.

I think we have had too much going on for too long, and I had optimistically scheduled everything to happen at once, unaware that my daughter was going to develop preeclampsia and have to have an emergency c-section so early.  Still, we should have fun.  I just need to remember to wrap her gifts…

I wasn’t even “normal” in what I chose for her shower gifts.  At least she will “get” the idea.  If anyone knows me, it is the child that I raised, right?

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, entertaining, motor vehicle, procrastination, stress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

