Busy weekend with baby shower & Halloween party

Whew.  Busy busy weekend here in the world of the small.

Saturday was the baby shower for my daughter, and that was a logistic freak out for me.  Somehow, it worked out okay.  I think she was happy, and that is the only thing that was important to me.  It didn’t hurt that the weather was immensely cooperative.  We all did have fun though, and I can honestly say that the cheesecakes all came out pretty good and were very well received.  Everyone had their favorite flavors out of the 3 I made: peanut butter & chocolate, blueberry, and pumpkin spice.   My daughter did suggest that most of them were not quite sweet enough, which did agree with what my taste buds were saying as well.

Sunday was the Halloween Party combined with outdoor campfire cooking demonstration.  I made bean soup (cheated and precooked that indoors so we could eat them sooner rather than someday.)  Cornbread-the first batch was black on the outside, top and bottom, but the second batch came out perfectly.  Baked fish with seasonings wrapped in foil.  Pumpkin with brown sugar and butter, wrapped in foil.  Simple food.

I think everyone enjoyed their time and the food too.  We were pretty relaxed and laid back, but both my daughter and myself were rather tired.  I’d been plagued with nightmares lately, resulting in poor sleep.  My daughter just had a baby who is still in the hospital, requiring frequent trips to see her and be involved in her care.  She left early with her significant other, after discovering her blood sugar was through the roof.

Everyone headed home around 8 or 9, I suppose.  That left GM & I to clean up a bit in the dark before calling it a night.  If it was weather proof, it got left out.  If it wasn’t, we picked it up and stored it in the van.  We’re tired.  It will wait until daylight for the rest of it to be picked up and put away, as we have all of our chairs, Don’s chairs, and borrowed chairs still sitting out, along with all of our tables and Halloween themed cheap disposable table cloths.

It had been a long time since I had hosted anything, and two in one weekend was a LOT.  I’m too much a loner these days, I suspect, but I am worn out.  I find that hilarious in one sense, as someone else has to do the lifting and toting for me.  Dutch ovens are very heavy too.

So, like a story of old, I ride off into the sunset, to tell the tale of another day in the Downsizing Chronicles….

 

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in entertaining and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

