Location, location!

We went to look at the private property that we were hoping would work for a temporary location for the travel trailer…and we think we’ve come to an agreement.  There’s a lot of work to be done on the property, but it isn’t an impossible thing either.  A lot of it is merely getting stuff loaded to be hauled away, working on repairs to the mobile home there, and dismantling an old travel trailer for recycling & disposal.

I guess it sounds impossible, doesn’t it?

Not really, but there is a lot of work to be done before the mobile home is ready to be rented.  In the meantime, there would be someone (us) living on site to prevent vandalism & theft, etc. besides helping with the work, since the owners are like most people-working long hours to pay their bills.

But it is definitely in the country, although all of the amenities of life are readily available too, like cable internet!  We’ll have plenty of privacy despite being literally right on the main highway–there are no close neighbors and most of the 5+ acres is wooded.  No worries about Sissy’s yapping annoying anyone besides us, since we’ve never been able to break her of the habit of barking at anything that moves.  It doesn’t help that she does not see particularly well, and her vision is likely to deteriorate with time.  It certainly has in the five years she’s been living with me.

The real down side to the move is that we know we’ll be moving our trailer again before we leave.  The “perfect” location for our trailer is where the unmovable travel trailer sits, and until it is dismantled & removed, we obviously can’t occupy the same spot.  But…even with that, I’m actually jazzed about it.  We’ll have a good location for quite a while now.  Depending on how quickly our new landlords want to buy the supplies, the repairs and all will likely take at least six months and probably a year, since that won’t be GM’s full time “job.”  We still need to work on getting him one of THOSE!

Now comes the fun part.  Getting the trailer ready to move, changing our address, getting cable turned on, etc.  Power is already there, but without a resident, cable was obviously not needed.  I’ll have to call on Monday to see about that routine.

The big downside is that I have zero phone reception with Sprint.  That also means I won’t have data card reception either.  If it doesn’t work at home, I’m questioning whether or not we should keep it, and I know my contract isn’t near the end, which means I’ll get zapped with the horrible “early termination” fees.  Cell phone contracts are one of my biggest beefs…they are ridiculously restrictive!  I know I was TOLD by customer service several years ago that if I moved to an area where there was no reception, they would terminate my contract without the fees…but I’m not going to hold my breath.  It wasn’t put in writing, and therefore, its unlikely to hold water with them, and I suspect it was never their real policy.  With double early termination fees, its pretty horrific to think about.

My sole hope is I was told today that often, companies will pay your fee to get you to switch to their company.  Cellular South has good reception in rural Mississippi…and Sprint has almost zero.  Half the time when I’m out and about away from the coast, I have zilch or roaming almost zilch.  Even in Mobile itself, it usually turned out that I was roaming, and that is just plain ridiculous.  We were less than fifteen miles north of Interstate 10, still on a main highway, and even perched on the raised deck…I had no reception at all.

So, it appears we’re going to need a hard wired telephone, and if that is the case, I’ll probably just go with a contract-less prepaid cell phone, possibly downgrading the Sprint phone to the minimum package to use when we are on the coast or traveling in Sprint areas.   In my travels, I’ve discovered that Sprint has massive holes in their coverage–I had no coverage at all on mine from the time I left Memphis until I returned to Memphis when I went to Minnesota, yet my daughter’s Verizon phone always had coverage.   Another friend has AT&T, and he too has massive blank areas in rural Mississippi, Alabama & Florida.  So logic tells me…either Verizon (nation wide coverage but sneaky billing system) or Cellular South (not sure about national or regional coverage, but reportedly cheaper).  I’ve had Sprint for about seven years, so this is a traumatic event for me…to have to change.  Sometimes, its better the devil you know…and then dang it, that devil up and chokes on you!

So with all of the excitement…remember that Daylight Savings time comes to an end as of 2 hours ago now.  Which, just for the record, I think is the dumbest thing I have ever heard of.  The way I see it, it’s like saying, gee, my blanket is too short.  I know what…I’ll cut off a foot at the bottom and sew it to the top, and then, by golly, that blanket will be long enough!

It’s bull hockey.  We aren’t “saving” a damn thing.  It’s an illusion designed to benefit the corporate world and delude the working man, and most of America buys into it.  Arizona doesn’t, so good for them.  Living by the sun means that daylight savings time takes on a whole new level of stupidity…the sun comes up, and the sun goes down.  Who really cares what time is on the clock then?  When you understand what “dark thirty” is, then you’ll truly get what I’m saying…and know what a quarter till daylight is too!  I suppose you truly understand it when your life is scheduled around feeding the horses an hour before daylight so they are ready to go to work at sun up.  You know you’ll be home for dinner around dark thirty, after the horses are taken care of and the work day is done.  To tell what time it is, all you need is a glance at the sky.  It’s real dark an hour before sun up.  It’s solid dark at dark thirty too.  If its midday, the sun is midway.

But that’s for another time and place..

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, location and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Location, location!

  1. Karen Rickers says:

    Hey there!

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog entries! I’m located in Ontario, and dream of the day when I can buy a hundred acres of pasture and woodlot, move into a dilapidated trailer, raise sheep and chickens, and become a true eccentric. So I enjoy reading about others who are paving the way. 😀

    I went to school in Britain for a year, and lived in a space smaller than your trailer. Having so little ‘stuff’ was liberating. Why do we acquire all of this ‘stuff’ when we have to take care of it, and constantly carry it around on our backs? Some strange sense of security, I suppose.

    I’m going to try to add your blog to my Google Reader, so I can follow your future adventures.

    All the best with your new location … it sounds perfect to me. Away from the things of man …

    Cheers,
    Karen

Leave a Reply

