Just a cold day…and a three dog night

It was Sunday, and a cold day today.  Getting up wasn’t high on our list of priorities, and the dogs weren’t any more interested than us.  Snuggled into bed, beneath a sleeping bag, it didn’t matter that we have no heat.  GM took pity on Reddog and her pathetic looking rug with my rolled up dirty jeans as a pseudo bolster.  She got to sleep on the bed, which meant for the first night all week, I slept warm between him and the dog.

Three dog night takes on a new meaning lately.  I wonder…does GM count as a couple of dogs?  (He’ll have a cow when he reads this later!)

Set back on the new location…it seems that there is a government agency that could potentially cause our eviction.  As a result, we’re on hold and waiting to find out what the verdict is going to be.  There really is no sense in moving if we’re going to be doing nothing but waiting for someone to come and announce we have x amount of time to depart.  Just when I was really getting jazzed about the move too!

Outside of that, we didn’t do much.  Laundry was done, so clean clothes are available.  The dogs ate their dinner, and we had our midday meal to break our fast today–sliced ham, sweet potatoes, and peas, and I accompanied mine with pepper marmalade on whole wheat bread–YUMMM!  We went fishing for a little bit without any luck at all, and then ate chili and cornbread with our friends–a welcome hot meal after the chill of sitting alongside the Pascagoula River!

We then watched part of the movie Avatar.  Interesting, imaginative, and I’m still not a movie watcher.  Just my character flaw.  DVD players were made for the sort I am–put it on pause and do something and go back and finish it later.  I did watch probably close to an hour of the programming before I had to give it up and get moving. 

This evening is cold still.  My toes are half numb, my fingers appreciate the ability to nestle around the hard polycarbonate tumbler that I prefer to use as a “coffee glass.”  The warmth radiates gently through the rigid tumbler, and soaks into my hands for a blissful moment of warmth.  Of course, I also enjoy the delicious warmth as I sip it and feel it trickle down my throat.

It’s amazing, but with the reduction in space, it does almost seem as though smaller things are appreciated more.  I still love my little corner shelf.  I still love the chair cushion that makes these bench seats bearable too.  I can appreciate the convenience of using your toilet right inside your home, without a trek outside where the temperatures are terribly chilly (I bet it isn’t over 55* right now!)

Okay, I’m a wuss.  I don’t like to be cold.  It makes my shoulder ache, it makes my knee ache…it makes my ME ache!  We don’t have enough of that kind of weather to ever get me used to it either.  With the early nights, I’m also discovering that by sundown, I want to be home, safe inside and slightly warmer.

So, with a slightly runny nose and high hopes that I’m NOT coming down with a cold, as my granddaughter is finally supposed to be released from the hospital on Tuesday…I’m also appreciating Puffs with lotion.  Try them, they are the only tissues I’ll bother buying.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in being sick, budget, dogs, emotions, location, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

