Organization is the key

When you are living in a small space there is one thing that cannot be overcome.  Small spaces go from clutter to chaos faster than a cat after a mouse.  I’m not kidding.  Keeping a small space organized, with everything in its place and a place for everything is the ONLY way to survive.

How do you achieve this magical state though?

I think it must be a painful and slow process.  We aren’t there yet.  After a 99 day stint as a full time resident, our frustration and aggravation level continues to rise.  This morning, I lost one of the shoes from only two pairs I have in the trailer.  How in the world did I lose a shoe in such a tiny space??

Lack of organization.  It turned out that it somehow migrated to the “kitchen” and was under the stepstool/coffeetable/end table/everything gizmo we have.  Out of sight, I was soon half crazy with aggravation because of losing a shoe.

A lot of what I talk about is efforts to try to organize our lives in a way that makes sense to us.  We have some very unique interests and needs, and those issues are not likely to confront other people.  After all, how many people do you know that live in a travel trailer and need a KitchenAid mixer, specialized baking pans…and even a ravioli mold?  Oh, and two sewing machines and a serger, as well as a scroll saw?  Don’t forget the tools, camping gear, computers, books, cook books, magazines, computer paraphernalia, dog leashes, dog crates, dog dishes, cat dishes, litter box, cat toys…the list goes on.  We are really tough  cases for the micro life style!

I have faith though.  It’s starting to take shape, and the extras that we don’t need as much as we thought we did…are beginning to be left behind.  Some porcelain dolls that just needed more space than I wanted to allot them…dishes that I don’t use…extra utensils for cooking that didn’t work for me…a book I didn’t like.  It’s nice to be able to give something to someone who wants it, when my need for it has gone away.  It’s also nice that when I need the charger for batteries for some gizmo…I can find it.  That only happens as the extras are sent away forever and organization is achieved.

So here’s my new mottos:

  • Don’t let “stuff” weight you down so that  you can’t live.
  • Your stuff doesn’t define who you are.
  • Stuff that you can’t find when you need to use that stuff is useless stuff.
  • Don’t keep useless stuff.
  • Make your stuff do double duty somehow.
  • Do you REALLY need all of those clothes?
About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, customizing, environment, organization and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

