Small thoughts on toilets and more

The composting toilet or alternative toilet search continues.  We don’t have a solution, we don’t have a plan.  I just think it is a ridiculous use of fresh, potable water to flush it down the toilet.  Especially since a “low water” toilet still uses over a gallon a flush.  At the same time, I don’t want to create a health hazard or advocate any kind of cutting of corners, and above all, I do not want any unpleasant odors.

I think back to a long time ago, back in another lifetime practically.  I lived on the Sonoran desert on a ranch, which was so far off of the grid that you couldn’t spot the grid with binoculars either.  We had an outhouse, and come sun down…it was taken over.

Yeah, I’m not kidding.  I opened the door to an assortment one night, complete with a cornered pack rat, scorpions, a rattle snake, and some spiders that would have done well being cast in an alien world for a horror movie.  From that moment on, I considered the out house to be out of reach from sun down to sun up.  It was theirs, they could have it, I wasn’t fighting it.

I don’t want to face that scene ever again, so outhouses are utterly OUT.  I prefer civilization, otherwise, I’d have gone to some distant and remote area to begin with.  I like nature…just not dancing around on my toilet.

Odorless, inexpensive, efficient, and environmentally friendly–it shouldn’t be an impossible order, but it seems it is.  I realize that my budget would make most people cringe, but I have made it work as best I can.  That does not mean that I don’t get aggravated because of its limits, but I do get by.  Getting by means that a price tag of $6000 is not what I’d consider “inexpensive.”  After all, we had all of our computer equipment destroyed in August by a lightning strike.  We managed to purchase ONE $300 laptop to replace them, along with a single router at about $60.  That forced purchase hurt us badly.  We’re now acquiring a used desktop computer to fill in the gap, and we’ve still got to figure out how on earth to make it fit!  So, we run a tight ship in terms of budgets, as well as space.  I just cannot justify trying to spend $6000 (and more!) on a composting toilet for this travel trailer, nor can we afford that kind of price tag even when its time to upgrade into a micro home or better travel trailer.

I realize that there are often hidden costs in cheaper models, which can range from the need for a second installation to handle the final composting to operating expenses.  There are similar hidden costs in traditional toilets and the septic or sewer system too.  It just needs to be affordable!

So the search goes on.  I can’t understand a lot of things, like why RV models of air conditioners are so incredibly inefficient and expensive to operate, or why a 12 volt system in a travel trailer cannot be charged by a solar system.  I can comprehend that an air conditioner cannot possibly be solar powered…but I do think my lights, the small refrigerator, and a fan SHOULD be able to be powered by a compact and efficient solar system.

Research.  I guess it keeps me from running the streets, right?

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, customizing, environment, financial state, interesting ideas, repairs, self sufficiency, sewer, sustainable living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

