Fall cleaning and sprucing up for Mother Inspection

My mother and aunt are coming from halfway across the continent for a visit next week.  That means…

INSPECTION TIME!!!

There is nothing that will stress a woman out as much as her mother and aunt coming for a visit and to see the “new place.”

Guaranteed.

So, with the deadline rapidly approaching, it’s time for a clean up.  First step is that we are going to pressure wash the entire exterior and remove the algae(?) or whatever it is that has decided the skin of the trailer would make a good host.  It’s green…and black…and shows up well on a white trailer.  So, that means bath time.  It’s also a good time to clean the roof, and prepare to caulk the edges & seams and hopefully eliminate that persistent leak we’ve had trouble with.  One leaks through the wall below the window on the off side, and the other drips onto the bed…but only SOMETIMES when it rains.  So, we’re starting off with a good sealing of the edges and seams.

Extras need taken out of here and put into storage, even if its NOT convenient.  We’re going to shoot for spartan over the weekend, not convenience.  That means we’re likely to end up with just a small wardrobe for clothing (please don’t change more, I’m begging the weather) and I’m going to have to see what tools we can banish for the week or so they are here.  We also need to finalize Thanksgiving plans.  We’re likely to have two…our formal one is on the Sunday prior, with an informal fish fry/seafood boil on the actual day, while my daughter & co are busy with other family.  I refuse to try and fry oysters though.  If they want oysters, I recommend a restaurant!  That is one thing that just does not come out when I do it…fried oysters.  I can cook a chocolate souffle that is to die for…but fried oysters are beyond me.

So, with that said…I still have a mess from last night.  I tried to mix up some hot cocoa without turning on lights so I could really see (not totally dark, just no lights on right by the refrigerator where the coffee maker lurks.)  The end result?

I complained that the new brand of mint flavored hot cocoa had little mint flavor OR chocolate flavor.  GM cheerfully pointed out that I was unfit for chocolate making late at night, as most of the powder sits in a pile on the refrigerator, and never made it into the cup.

I hate that.

So its dishes and chocolate powder this morning, followed by a glorious series of events as we pressure wash the entire exterior.  GM is so happy to be working with water late in the fall on a nice cool breezy day…

It’s a good thing he loves me, other wise, this whole process would make him crazy.  I think I’ll wait to tell him the really bad news about the storage unit and what I want to put IN…and take OUT until later.  If you hear howls of agony and frustration, don’t worry.  He recovers after complaining a little while, especially if I bribe him with coffee and chocolate!

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, cleaning, dishes, family, organization, procrastination, relationship, repairs, storage unit, stress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

