Location, location…

We have not fared well at the search for a place to park the travel trailer.  Everything is just…not quite right.  Too expensive, too crowded, too micro-managed, too messy, too weird, too straight laced, too something.

Maybe I’m just too picky?

The biggest deal is…my dogs are old, but not old enough for me to merely doom them to death because they aren’t fitting into our new lifestyle.  It doesn’t work that way with me.  Even if Sissy makes me crazy with her yapping…it never did before she was put in a situation where there are continual streams of people, vehicles, and animals that set off her personal alarm bells.  We do need to do something before we wear out our welcome here though.

So the suggestion was made that we look for a piece of property where the zoning would allow us to continue living in the travel trailer…at least for now.  We don’t have any idea how buying a lot or acreage works or really where to even start.  We don’t know how much it costs, or how difficult it would be to get it financed or how much we’d need for a down payment…or what the monthly payments would be.

We don’t even know what our projected income would be over the next year with the economy so uncertain.

But…it is a very attractive idea to think of owning a bit of dirt we can call home, no matter what else we may be doing.  I like the idea of planting some fruit trees and a garden, of having a work shed where I can work on my things…and GM can work on his.  I realized how much I’d enjoy retreating to the country again when we thought we’d made arrangements to rent space on a friend’s property…and how ideal it would have been.

As nice as renting some rural property would be, I think I’d like owning some even more.

But…it is a bit frightening to think of actually putting down some kind of roots, of owning something we can’t pack up and take away with us.

Then, the other part of my mind says, this might be a very good idea.

So…I guess tomorrow, I’ll bite the bullet and start making some phone calls to realtors as a first step.  I haven’t seen anything remotely suitable advertised in the newspaper, so don’t have a clue where less desirable and more affordable properties are sold.  I also need to find out how to double check zoning–we do not want to buy it, and then discover we are not allowed to live in the travel trailer on it…or put a shed…or a house…or whatever else that we’d want to do in the future.

Who says that if we live in a small space, we have to dream small?

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, dogs, environment, interesting ideas, location, materialism, self sufficiency, sustainable living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

