Getting rid of stuff

It’s hard to give up your “stuff” sometimes.  We get attached to the material things we surround ourselves with, and I’m gifted (??) with a tendency to be a pack rat “just-in-case.”  I have concluded one thing though.

What good does it do to save something, just in case you need it later, if you can’t find it when you need it because you have too much stuff and its piled in a storage unit, shed, storeroom, attic, or closet?

How many times have you had to buy something that you KNOW you already had (we’re not going to count the times when you didn’t even realize you already had that item) because you couldn’t find it?

How many hours of your life have been wasted as you searched, sometimes in vain, for that missing item you had saved…just in case…only to not be able to find it when you needed it?

Do I really need to store a large inexpensive item that I use very infrequently, often years between occasions?

How many clothes in YOUR closet do you look at and can’t remember the last time you wore it (assuming that it even still fits)?

Why do you have those cute shoes that absolutely kill your feet and you haven’t worn them in three years…that cost a fortune when you bought them?

I’m going crazy here.  I have stuff.  I can’t find anything…ever.  I can’t put anything away because of all the stuff that already crowds the “away” part of our tiny home.  I have boxes that need to go back to storage.  I have a storage unit that is stuffed full.  I can’t find anything in the storage unit anymore either, because too often its a hurried trip there to get or drop off an item or two.

It’s insane.  I’m actually paying extra for the insanity, extra that I could certainly use elsewhere.  Why do I have this stuff?  Do I really, truly, need to keep this stuff?  I’ve moved, will I ever make that satin into new drapes somewhere else?  I certainly won’t need an entire bolt of dark sage satin in a travel trailer!  That coffee table…where on earth am I going to put it?  Do I really need to store it, or would I be better off to give it away or even just have a yard sale and sell it for $1?  It’s the kind of table that I could paint and use outdoors…if I had space outdoors to call our own.  But how long will it be before it is put to use again?

The list goes on.  Will I ever use that butcher block center island again?  Do I really need to keep it?  How about the ironing board?  Would I be better off to donate it and then buy a new one when I have space for a full sized ironing board?  After all, its a bulky but not a high dollar item!

I know that over time, I will spend more to pay to store my used junk than I would spend to replace it with new and improved junk.  At the same time, there are things I need to store that I do use, but just don’t have space for…like our camping gear, canning equipment, etc.  I need those things periodically, and they are bulky.  I know that I have space occupied with things such as books, and I don’t want to give up having my little library, although we do have to periodically donate books after I’m done reading and reviewing them.

But on the other hand, I have things such as stone goblets, an expensive china set, real rock crystal balls (not the glass sort!), and so forth…and I just don’t have space for them in my small home.  Will I ever use the china?  Will I ever display the tea set again?  How about the stone goblets?

I have to really and sincerely examine my priorities and figure out which things fit who I am now, that are truly important to my overall well being, and start getting rid of the rest.  I know that the replaceable items should go, especially if they are not being used now.  The “treasures” I will keep…at least for now.

So it is time to bite the bullet.  It has to go.  It isn’t doing me any good, that’s for certain, and its obvious that its a financial drain as well as a continual source of aggravation.  I have to get this entire process going in order to regain my sanity, and avoiding it any longer is impossible.

Cross your fingers for me, and hope I stay strong…and energetic enough to get through the whole thing.

Now…to figure out how to have a yard sale when you don’t have a yard…

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in consumerism, emotions, family, financial state, furniture, materialism, organization, procrastination, storage unit, stress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

