Real estate, what do I REALLY want from it?

In the process of searching for a piece of land, I’m having to figure out what I really consider important.  That means we need to make some long range plans about what we do, and don’t, want from a piece of property.

Obviously, we’re like everyone else.  We want great neighbors but at a distance.  We want nice looking moderately level to gently rolling land.  We want low taxes, a low purchase price, few restrictions on what we can do with it, easy access even during inclement weather, no flooding, and low fire risk.  Oh, and don’t forget, we want as large a piece of property as possible!

All that for just $500 down and $125 a month for ten years, right?

Yeah, right!

Did I mention we also want a septic system installed, water either from a well or community system, electricity on the property, cable on the property, telephone on the property, and maybe a nice solid shed while we’re at it?  Of course we don’t want to pay more!

Yeah, obviously we’re going to have trouble.  I’d like ten acres, partially cleared, with the septic system and well pre-installed, as well as power.  We have to have access to cable internet and we’re likely to need a telephone too.

Add in that we need to be fairly close to the coast, plus I’m a fishing fanatic who loves sitting on the water, so I want to be within reasonable distance of fishing too.

I’m not wanting much bang for MY dollar, am I?

In reality, I’d be happy with a place that isn’t zoned to eliminate our travel trailer, as that would be our initial home there.  I also would prefer to NOT have to move in order to build our home, whether we go micro or merely small.  I would like to keep a few chickens, and maybe have a pony.  After all, I do have a granddaughter to spoil!  I would also want plenty of room for gardening, having some fruit trees, and some blueberry bushes.  We need enough room to have a septic system and a well too.  We would likely need two acres, might be able to get by on an acre, depending on zoning.  I’d like four or five, and I’d be thrilled with more, if it was somewhat usable.  I don’t want neighbors who let their dogs run continually, or make a lot of racket, or have ill behaved kids who come armed with pellet rifles or worse.  I want a peaceful, quiet life…with electricity, water, sewer, cable internet and a telephone.

Now, I just have to find that idyllic piece of property…in Mississippi.  And the financial ability to pay for it.  So…tomorrow…I call the realtors, starting with the southeastern corner of Mississippi.  Surely not all of this land is made of gold, with rules chiseled in stone, right?

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, family, financial state, friends, location, self sufficiency and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

