Living small, magazines and books

I’ll admit it, I’m a pack rat by nature.  I save STUFF.  I know I’ll need it later.  One of the things I’m prone to saving is magazines.  I do use them later!  (I’m still looking for a macadamia nut fruit cake from a BHG holiday mag from the 80s…and no luck in finding it!)  I had entire sets of magazines, such as the early years of Mother Earth News (are you old enough to remember when it was all newsprint?)  along with most of the 80s.  Like most of my “stuff”, sooner or later, I had to move on without it.  I often wish I still had it, as I remember an article that I wish I could re-read, etc.

But, with the new millenium, we have something else that is “new”.  It’s the digital magazine subscription, along with digital versions of books.  Suddenly, an e-reader or portable hard drive can contain an entire library’s worth of books.

Some people miss the feeling of sitting in their easy chair or laying in bed with a book.  Unfortunately, one of the things that I cannot do anymore is lay down and read, and even an easy chair for reading isn’t practical (if I had room for one!) because of the physical difficulty of holding a book and turning the pages.  (I’m nursing a shoulder/neck injury that isn’t healing like I wish it would.)  For me, its necessary to sit at a table to read to begin with (hence my complaints about the bench seats in the travel trailer) and that makes me probably even more inclined to enjoy digital books and magazines.

Granted, it does require power, but face it, our laptops, netbooks, and e-readers are becoming more power miserly all the time.  It doesn’t require trees to make the paper, nor all that manufacturing, shipping, and marketing to get it to me though.  In addition, there are some other fantastic advantages to digital media.

Visually challenged?  The print can be increased right on your screen to any size you like.  No more peering at tiny print, or wondering what it said in that box of advertisement.

Like to check out the links?  No more of having to laboriously re-type the links in the ads or articles into your browser.  One click, bingo, it’s coming up for you.  (E-readers usually can’t do this, just for the record.)

Like to save the book, magazine or other media?  Not a problem, its stored right in your memory for easy retrieval.  Computer crash?  Well, Zinio has always let me re-download each and every magazine I’ve ever gotten through them, and for some of the magazines, there’s about 5 or 6 downloads over the past few years.  I’m not familiar with other companies that manage digital downloads of magazines, so I  can’t vouch for them.  Another alternative is the various services that will hold files for you online, permanently backing up your magazine and book library.  With digital media, even in a travel trailer, you can have thousands of books literally at your fingertips.

Are you a bit impatient and want that new book NOW?  With many digital books, you can purchase the book and download it immediately.  No more waiting weeks for it to arrive in your mailbox or at the bookstore.  Sometimes, there is something to be said for immediate gratification!

Digital media means that those of us who are real pack rats can keep our media, our sanity, our space, and our significant others happy…all at the same time.  There is a lot to be said for that!

 

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, cleaning, consumerism, stress and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

