Middle of December and now what??

It’s the middle of December, the weather has warmed up, there’s a steady breeze outside, and I’m as miserable as can be.  I have what my mother always dubbed “the creeping crud.”  I suppose its a flu of some sort, with incredible aching and the normal nasal bit, but it doesn’t mean I have to be happy about it.  It just slammed into me like a brick last night, we got home and boom…I was in a state of agony.  I told GM that if he amputated my legs, my arms, my shoulders, my hips, my spine, and my head…I’d feel just fine.

Obviously, he didn’t buy into my plan, instead nagging me to take some cold medicine.

I went to sleep before 8 pm last night, and that of course meant that I was awake at around 2 am, and up long after the sun had started the day.  So now I’ve got a messed up internal clock as I sleep at weird times when the incredible lethargy hits.  I really had too much to do to even think about a down day for a flu, a cold, or even the creeping crud.

The new head gasket arrived for the van yesterday, and the game plan was to get that started today.  Unfortunately, I messed up, forgetting to pick up a couple of items that need to be on hand before the van’s engine is disassembled.  In addition, my nocturnal meanderings had GM awake, resulting in his not getting enough sleep either.  He may actually be crankier than I am!

So, the temporary garage has no roof or walls or floor yet, the propane hasn’t been hooked up, I haven’t gone to the store yet, I still have a headache, GM is grumping, and the van is still intact and barely functional.  I also need the water re-connected so we can clear out the lines from the anti-freeze that was in them, the propane connected so we can use the water heater, stove, and furnace…and that van fixed.

And I’m absolutely no help today.

Poor GM, he needs a clone.  To make it more interesting we had a brief rain shower, a heavy one no less, which meant a frantic rush to get the dogs inside, followed by a call requesting his help at using the internet, and he’s still on short sleep.  The sun goes down in about four hours too, which means there is a lot that is not going to happen today.  I’m not going to nag beyond getting things ready to start tomorrow, there is no reason to increase his stress level–he feels the same urgency that I do.  Today is just a “Murphy Day” when everything is kind of cock eyed, I suppose.

Tomorrow…good ol’ manana…that’s going to be a better day.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in being sick, emotions, holidays, motor vehicle, repairs, stress, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

