The RV stove or grown up easy bake oven?

Remember your “easy bake” oven when you were a little girl?  At least when I was a child, they used a light bulb to generate enough heat to somewhat cook a tiny cake.  I think mine held my interest for a week or two, then the mixes were gone, and it was not much fun to create those dry, inedible cakes.  It was way more fun to use the regular stove, and the baked goods tasted way better too.

Now, I’m in a travel trailer with the “RV propane stove.”  Guess what?

It’s a grown up easy bake oven.

It has three burners and an oven, a striker for the burners and the oven has to be lit by hand, but isn’t nearly as terrifying to do as the old gas stoves that required that the ovens be lit.  (I had one somewhat explode after someone had bumped the gauge, allowing gas to slowly seep into the oven, until I stuck a lit match in it to light it.  I singed my hair badly, lost most of my eyebrows, and all of the hair on my arms too!)

I’ve discovered the temperature gauge isn’t in the ballpark of being accurate.  The oven is only slightly wider than a toaster oven, and about as tall.  I’m not sure a chicken could be roasted whole in it, and part of me wonders what on earth was going through the designer’s heads when they dreamed up this stove.

Technically, this travel trailer is capable of sleeping 8.  (Just don’t ask me to be in it with the other 7 people at the same time!)  I’d hate to try to prepare a meal for 8 in here.

No cupboard space, and there certainly is not enough space at the dinette for 8…you would be crowded with four!  It is hard to do anything of a culinary nature in our cramped space.  It’s really hard to do anything in our space–it’s obviously not designed for people with interests any more active or space using than watching television.

So, for baking cookies…I am making drop cookies tonight.  In my not-so-easy-baking-oven.  I take the tiny cookie sheet out of the oven, and it balances over the center divider of the sink, with a washcloth protecting the sink from the hot pan.  (I suspect it is an acrylic sink, not enameled steel like a home sink is.)   The cookies are removed and are placed on a plate balanced on top of a dozen eggs perched on the toaster.  Seriously.  That’s where they cool.  When they are cool (the plate holds 4 dozen cookies if they are stacked right) I put them in a clear acrylic jar with a screw on lid.  I’m leaving the lid off to ensure that they do cool off entirely without any condensation.  After I’m all done with these cookies, (Ultimate Oatmeal Cookies) I’ll close up the lid to keep them from drawing moisture, as it is drizzling as I type.

Holiday cooking in a travel trailer is probably a short road to insanity.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in dishes, holidays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

