Day 2 of the Great Repair

Today is Day 2 of the Great Repair, and it is c o l d.  Granted the Gulf Coast isn’t like Fargo, ND, but cold here is still as miserable as it is anywhere else.  Working on the van’s engine in the cold, inside of a temporary garage covered with just a tarp, without heat or lights, is still no fun.  I have to give GM credit though, he’s out there in his jacket and long johns, working towards solving our problems with the van’s engine.

Inside, I went to work on the Great Cookie Baking project with my Not-so-easy bake oven.  I must have turned off the pilot light and now lighting it isn’t working.  I must have gotten lucky the first time because it wasn’t hard at all on that occasion.  This morning, it’s frustrating me incredibly quickly.  Even after GM came in for a cup of coffee and tried to light it, we’d get the pilot light lit, only to have it go out as soon as we tried to light the oven itself, resulting in further aggravation for both of us.  He headed back out, mumbling something about thermocouples might need replaced, to which I said that means the oven doesn’t work.  Of course, that was refuted with the statement that the thermocouple would just have to be replaced, because he didn’t “get” it that if that gizmo was non-functional, it meant that here and now, without a vehicle that works, the oven does not work!  Sometimes, we just aren’t on the same wavelength about what works versus what does not work.

I also need to find my plum pudding recipe.  This year, I just bought mixed candied fruit to make it, which is what the original used.  The past few years, I was unable to FIND candied fruit, and opted for dried fruit, using a lot of raisins, currents, and dried mixed tropical fruit in the recipe.  We liked it both ways.

Then, just to add interest to the morning, my bug, whether its a cold or the flu, is reminding me that I’m not entirely recovered with sneezing bouts and a runny nose.  Thank goodness for Puffs with lotion or my nose would have me looking like Rudolph…which might be seasonal, but not really quite “my look”, if you know what I mean.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in appliances, cooking, motor vehicle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

