The flu, the rain, and the new year

It’s the 29th of December, and I’m sicker today than yesterday.  I have 100 angry miners in my head with pick axes, and 1000 angry teenagers running rampant in my bones with boom boxes and extra bass.  Just to make it even a better day, the water department has decided its time for their centennial pressure test on my sinuses.

Of course, Sissy has been in rare form today too.  Her yapping would send steel fence posts through my skull.  Looking at her and talking to her, it became obvious that her vision is failing–there is a noticeable cloudy and bluish look to her left eye, and the right is not much better.  It’s sad, but we knew a year ago that she didn’t see very well.  It’s no wonder that even changing our silhouette by carrying a bulky object alarms her.  That’s probably about all she sees is silhouettes.

RedDog isn’t much better off.  She sees better, but she is truly suffering from stiffness.  Their long day outside on Christmas day while we were gone was too much for big old tough RedDog who used to spend 12 hours a day outside, rain or shine, snow or sun.  She sometimes needs help to get onto the bed now, and sleeping on the bed is easier on her aching joints than sleeping on the floor with her blanket, even with her new micro-fleece blanket covering her.

We were supposed to go to a New Year’s Party on 12/31…including a camp out.  I’m not sure we’re going to be able to go, I feel pretty awful to contemplate doing that in a couple of days.  Sleeping in a tent, in cold and damp weather, while nursing the flu, does not sound like the brightest idea I could come up with.  I have another camping trip planned for 1/29 (or close to that date) and that’s another thing.  I should be well recovered by then.

I have to admit though, camping isn’t as much of a thrill when you live in a travel trailer.  It used to be that I went camping to “get away from it all.”  Now, I think I go camping to have more space!  Still, it’s a lot of fun for a bunch of friends to go and explore something new.  I’m just not feeling as optimistic and cheery about it all while nursing the flu.  It makes me gloomy!

Poor GM, he’s trying to research torque specs and work on the van, and simultaneously worrying about me with my alternating chills and overheating sensations.  The next few days, with a forecast for rain, are not going to be great days for working on the van, and will slow down his progress, as his “garage” is a temporary structure consisting of a pipe frame with a tarp roof.    The sole saving grace is at least it isn’t supposed to be as miserably cold as it has been!

With that, the miners are not threatening to strike yet, and I am considering the possibility that my head might actually explode….

Hopefully, tomorrow I will feel better.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in being sick, holidays, motor vehicle, relationship, repairs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

