A new year and here we go!

The year of embarking on this smaller journey has ended, and now…we’re starting fresh.  The OTHER good news is…the Great Repair is expected to be completed today too.

I think the news about the Great Repair finally coming to an end is the best news I could have asked for.  Of course, I’ll be even more ecstatic to hear that engine start and run again than I am to merely be told it should be finished today.  That, for me, is always the joyful point of having an engine repair done.  When it runs like a purring cat once again.

Outside of that, its rainy and yucky.  The sun is just coming up, no one is awake anywhere yet, it’s silent except for Sissy and Red Dog complaining about being outside…which is their own fault since they were complaining earlier about being INSIDE.  Dogs…are almost as bad about the in/out thing as a kid!

All in all, I’m happy, excited, and I got up at the ridiculously early hour of 5 am.  It was dark, there was no reason to BE up, other than I’m thrilled to have a whole new year spread out in front of me.  Of course, I had to let GM sleep, like that old saying “I’m not grumpy, he’s still asleep.”  GM is not a morning person, and I do want him in good form later on when it is possible to start work on the van.  I also know…he was awake at midnight with me!

But I guess I’m suffering from a childlike excitement over something that is going to take a very long time to play out–the new year.  Anticipation.  I’m absolutely and totally convinced that 2011 is a great year for us, and I can’t wait to get started.

I suspect, by the end of the day, I’ll regret my 5 am desire to start the new year.  But even that concept comes with a silver lining for me…if I’m genuinely tired, I should be able to sleep better tonight, right?

The joy of anticipation seasoned with optimism.

Yep…that’s today!

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in emotions, motor vehicle, repairs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

