Anticipation…and rain

This morning seemed to take forever to dawn.  I was excitedly looking forward to the van’s Great Repair finally being completed.

But guess what?

Mother Nature has other plans.  We have a lovely storm sitting here, we had tornado watches until 10 a.m.   We’re expected to get 1-2 inches of rain today, and it’s generally drippy, soggy, miserable weather.

At least it’s not cold.

Yeah, right…but that’s a small consolation prize for a great reduction in the likelihood of van repairs getting completed today.  Granted we have a tarp covered pole structure as a temporary garage…but it offers little real weather protection, and all of the parts & tools are under another tarp on the ground, which of course means to work on anything, it all has to be exposed.

I’m not even using the cable internet, sticking to the data card we have through the cell phone.  After losing computers to a lightening strike, we’re leery of an ethernet cable being used during a thunderstorm.

I was going to cook outside and we were all going to eat outside…

There’s another “yeah, right.”

Patience is a virtue.  Too bad it’s not mine.

I wanted that repair finished so badly, it’s like fate is smacking me for my impatience, but it seems to have taken forever.  I want the freedom to get out and GO, even if we’re really saving money on gas since we either have to ride the bicycles or walk…or just buy gas for family & friends to take us when we absolutely need a ride.  I’m trying to tell myself that I’d get used to riding bike 5 miles round trip to get groceries, and that even though we go through 1.5 gallons of drinking water per day, I really could carry that back on the bicycle.

There’s another “yeah, right.”

I don’t have a trailer for the bike or a rear rack.  My “basket” is a crate I bought from Walmart and tied on with some twine.  It’s not exactly a heavy duty affair…it’s fine for carrying a jacket and some light odds and ends along, but a couple of gallons of water a day?  How about a 20 lb. bag of dog food?  Oh, let’s talk cat litter here.  There’s another “yeah, right.”

We should invest in a trailer, rear racks and maybe even a handle bar basket, especially with the rising price of gasoline.  A lot of shorter trips to run errands could be done via bicycle, and we actually burn most of our gasoline within ten miles of home, well within bicycling range, as we become accustomed to riding our bicycles more.  Google has even added a bicycle routing feature to their Google maps, still in Beta.  I have to admit, their routing needs some tweaking, but if you are familiar with the area you will be bicycling through, an appropriate route can be chosen from the available options.

So, as the rain falls outside, our plans for the day are put on hold, and we try to dry out after each excursion outdoors.  I’m not anticipating being able to get much done with the van project, and that means there is only one thing left to worry about on a rainy Saturday (and holiday) afternoon.

A nap.

A nap does sound wonderful, doesn’t it?

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in financial state, motor vehicle, repairs, stress, sustainable living, weather and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

