Cold, too cold!

The Gulf Coast has a cold front hanging out for a visit, and that means C O L D!!

Too COLD!

It seems like days since my feet were last warm, and almost as long since the toes went numb from the cold.  This morning, I’m sitting inside, with a hat, neck warmer, coat…and I had gloves on too, until I discovered that they were impossible to type in.  A cold nose in a human does not equate health though.

I joke about it, but at the same time, I am a bit concerned.  We are both recovering from a nasty case of the flu, and now we’re being frozen.  I can’t seem to warm up.

For breakfast, for myself (GM hates them) I made ramen noodles with chili in them.  Plenty of hot chili powder…I needed something that warmed me twice!  He’ll likely eat his instant grits, and I’ll wonder what he sees in them!

To make it even worse, the Great Repair has not ended after all.  After all of his work, there was a PCV that was supposed to have been reconnected before a lot of other things were, requiring him to undo hours of work and reconnect that particular valve.  It’s a prime example of being in a hurry, I suppose.  At the same time, between the cold and my flu, riding bicycle for miles for my appointments this morning is just not my idea of fun.  As a result, I’m catching a ride with someone else, and hoping that the close margin between the two appointments isn’t a problem…I don’t have enough time to walk between the two places.  Which is also the reason I was up before the sun this morning…I just haven’t had the nerve to strip down to get dressed in this cozy little frozen sardine can!

I just hope that our minimal preparations for these temperatures was adequate…I’d hate to have frozen pipes break!  Our previous cold spell was not as long winded, because it certainly never seemed this cold indoors before.

I really do wonder if there is any way to increase this trailer’s insulation and retain some of our climate controlling indoors right now.  Logistically speaking, to add even 1″ sheet stryofoam insulation would be a nightmare.  Besides that, to sacrifice another inch of height and two inches of width is not attractive at all!

Oh for the day when we can have a home with great insulation, real heat, and maybe even a fireplace for ambiance…even if it isn’t efficient!  To be honest, I’m actually colder right now than I have been when winter camping in a tent.  At least then we have a fire and can actually warm up.  Tonight I may take one of our cold weather camping tricks home though, and heat up a fire brick in the oven, wrap it in a towel  and tuck it into the foot of the bed to toast my frozen tootsies.

In the meantime, I’m thankful for warm clothes.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in being sick, emotions, environment, repairs, weather and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

