Weather and spring fever

Okay, so the Gulf Coast doesn’t get horrendous winters with snowfall measured in feet.  That doesn’t mean that spring fever can’t strike!

Its been cold and damp this winter, with several nights in a row qualifying as “hard freezes”.  For those folks who don’t know what that terrifying phrase means…it means that the temperatures are going to be below freezing for at least several hours.  We actually get “severe weather warnings” for such events, that’s how uncommon they are.

For someone in a travel trailer, that means less-than-cozy everything, where heading to bed is a form of self defense to enable you to get the chill out of your bones (and finally warm up your feet.)  It also means that you run the risk of frozen water and sewer lines, if you have them hooked up, and that requires some forethought to prevent damage or inconvenience.  We sigh…and drain ours, waiting for warmer weather to return in a day or two to reconnect.  No, it’s not convenient, but its much more convenient than connections being damaged by ice or hoses bursting from the ice inside of them.  Granted, a dripping faucet can prevent freezing when it hovers near the 32 degree mark, but when it drops into the twenties?  You’d need a steady stream of water flowing through to keep that from freezing, far too much to waste in preventng a frozen hose.

With that, dreams of warmer weather are spurred onward by seed catalogs and visions of summers gone by, and before long, you are longing to be lounging in the baking, sauna-like heat of summer.

Yeah, I think I’m nuts.  I hate summers and the sultry heat of the coastal region.

But this year, the cold is getting to me in a serious way.  Whether its age, injuries, my imagination, or those pictures of hot sultry summer days…I whine and complain when the weather is cold.  I put on more clothes, and then…GM starts to whine too.  It must be written in “man code” somewhere that evenings do not include warm clothes, but rather thin scrub pants and a t-shirt for lounging, and those blankets cannot be used for added warmth unless you intend to sleep in the next 30 seconds either.

I’ll confess, he makes me roll my eyes as I suggest that more clothes is the answer, and remind him that the blanket will cure cold feet too.  Reddog, our big girl, is in cahoots with GM on the cold factor, and often takes up position on my side of the bed when he’s sitting in there reading or using the computer.  She has learned that it eases her aches and pains if she finds a warm place to sleep instead of her blanket on the floor.  I’ve also learned…sleeping between a large dog and your significant other on a cold winter’s night means more warm for me!

But with the onset of spring fever, now I’m in search of garden space to rent.  I want fat tomatoes warm from the sun, beans to simmer with some bacon, eggplant, carrots, turnips, parsnips, summer and winter squash…and I’m sure there will be some melons to plant too.  Since we’re landless, we need to beg, borrow, share-crop, or rent space to plant said garden, which means it had better break even on the cost versus benefits of planting one.

I’ve also discovered that seeds have increased in price immensely since my gardening days.  Gone forever are the packets of seeds for .25-$.50.  Now they start at a dollar and go on up.  How can anyone see paying $5 for a packet of 20 seeds?  For that kind of money, it should plant itself!!!

I have found some space, but need additional space still.  I’ll see what I can come up with, but in the meantime, I’ll dream of the day when we are no longer landless wanderers in a world filled with vacant garden spaces.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in emotions, interesting ideas, location, relationship, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

