Going camping when you live camping

We’re planning our annual spring camping trip, a trip we take with a group the first weekend of March every year.  Somehow, it makes no sense for a couple who live in a travel trailer to go camping.

We camp in a tent, in a primitive camping area.  No facilities, no conveniences, and this is my third or fourth venture on this trip.  I know the routine, and I have some familiarity with the area we’ll be camping in.  Been there a few times, you know?

But on another level, I’m finding it immensely humorous.  Right now, we live camping each and every day.  I even do most of our cooking on a camp stove…outside.  Why on earth am I doing this?

It’s partly for a change in scenery, partly for the company we keep on these annual trips, and partly…well, it will make home look good!  I do have a few more conveniences at home!

We’ll sleep in a tent, on our bedrolls, with little padding between us and Mother Earth.  Tree roots and all.

We’ll have a campfire, and tell stories.  We’ll cook and eat together.  We’ll hike and bike, swim and wade, and drink real “branch water.”  We’ll sleep when we’re tired, and do stuff when we’re awake.  The dogs love it.  Maybe we’ll even go hunting for big foot signs.

So I guess we’ll ignore the irony, remember how much we enjoy it, and maybe stay an extra day or two or three.  Unplugged, maybe we can unwind too.

 

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in dogs, emotions, friends, stress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

