Bugs, bites, and fungus?

I’m in the hate mode.  I hate bugs and their bites.  I hate their buzzing around too.  I hate their corpses getting into light fixtures–how in the world do they manage that?

I hate mildew too.  It grows all over the skin of the trailer, and comes back too fast.  I hate the steady drip from the air conditioning unit as the every present humidity makes itself known.  It is aggravating me as well as encouraging the mold/mildew/fungus…or what I call the green and the brown and the black YUCK.

It’s a pain to hand scrub off, and it boils down to a continual hand scrubbing effort.  I’m sick of it.  I want it all gone.  I’m thinking about renting a pressure washer.  Yes, we could borrow one, but what if we screwed up and damaged it…or it merely died in our custody?

We are too paranoid.  Saving a few bucks isn’t worth a friendship.  I’ll have to price renting it.  I can’t see nagging GM all summer to continue the scrubbing.  It’s annoying to hear myself saying anything about it.

But the bugs…I don’t know what to do about those besides coat myself in DEET of one flavor or another continually.  The things zero in on me.  We returned today from an overnight trip, I had a half dozen bites already swelling before I got through the door.  It’s bad enough on arms and legs and back and neck…but now they like my FACE too!  Who wants massive red welts decorating their face?  I may not be vain, but I am a woman!

The only potential solution I can think of is leaving the coastal region.  With all of this water, the mosquitoes and gnats rule.  I don’t know if I’m ever going to get immune to their bites.  How do natives cope?

But…not only is tomorrow my birthday, it is a big day too.  Tomorrow is lets-get-legal day.  We’ve got to visit the offices that handle drivers licenses, license plates, and boat registrations.  First stop…drivers license for GM (I already did mine.)  Next stop, vehicle registration, and if we’re not broke…final stop will be for the boat registration, which should not be expensive at all.  Big day, and a busy one too.  In all of that, at some point, we’ll have to either go have lunch or go shopping to buy lunch supplies, along with a few other groceries we need.  And then, be home by 4 pm, as we move on to other facets of our lives and switch hats.

Maybe I better put gas into the van at some point too.  We’ve not done that in a while…and we need it gassed up for the following day, which has its own set of to-do lists.

No rest for the wicked, and I must have been very wicked at some point.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, financial state, motor vehicle, stress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

