The hurrier I go…

Ever have days like that?  No matter how you rush and hurry…you just seem to be lagging further and further behind.

That has been the way it has been ever since attending my surprise birthday party a couple of weekends ago.  Rush and rush, and nothing gets done.  We’ve been home very little, and seem to spend all of our time getting ready to leave when we ARE home.

I’m starting to get tired.  I want to come home and do some projects here, to not feel rushed, to not hurry, to not be feeling like I’m spinning like a top.

There are days when our tiny cube of a home seems like a palace.  It’s OUR home, we work to make it as comfortable as possible, we try to create a sense of order and purpose here.  When we’re out and about, sometimes everything just seems so big and obnoxiously ostentatious, like people are saying “Look, I can afford this PALACE.”

Okay, so our home is a pretty pitiful palace, but its a great home because it is OURS.  It’s our jumping off point.  It’s where we’re learning what works and what doesn’t.  We know a whole lot more about “doesn’t” than “does” at this point, but that’s okay.

We all have to start somewhere.

Starting anywhere is better than starting no where anyhow.

Ever hear that saying about start small?  It’s a lot easier to start with not-quite-enough and work up to enough than it is to start with too much and pare it down to a realistic enough.  When you start off with too small, adding more to make it just enough will feel spacious and airy.  If you start off with too much and pare it down to enough…it will feel tiny and cramped.

That’s my theory and I’m sticking to it anyhow.

We know that while the space might be adequate, there are a lot of inadequacies in our tiny travel trailer.  Too much wasted space or poorly utilized space.  Too little practical storage space when you live in it too.

I’ve never hated a stove the way I hate this RV stove.  As far as I’m concerned, that oven is about as useful as a bump on a log.  It can’t hold a chicken, for crying out loud!  It uses fuel like we’re going to the moon too, and that too is ridiculous.  I don’t even use it anymore.  We use a camp stove and cook outdoors most of the time.  It’s much less expensive, doesn’t heat up the house, and I have more elbow room.  Inside, the stove holds a small electric convection oven for those occasions when cornbread and biscuits are desired, or I want to roast a turkey breast.    The slow cooker is my friend too–beans and soups are often on our menu, and it does them nicely.  A turkey breast cooked in it is also juicy and tender, even if the skin remains rubbery and anemic.

The bedroom…is a claustrophobe’s nightmare.  I hate it.  It’s stuffy.  Closed in.  Closet like.  Literally!  Most McMansions have walk in closets we could put it in and have room left over.  It has one tiny window.  The wall slopes over the bed.  There’s almost enough room to stand at the foot of the bed with the door closed.  I sleep with my feet in the doorway, because there is a micro-closet put into the space where normal people would have a nightstand…only the nightstand would have a bigger footprint than the closet.  It makes me feel like my head is in a box when I lay down.  I have to scrooch down so that there is more space around my head and no wall right there beside my cheek.

I’m hopeless!

But…now its time for me to rush off again.  I’ll be gone for days again, and then there is an event this weekend.

No rest for the wicked, huh?

I must have been terribly wicked at some point!

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, building, customizing, interesting ideas, materialism, organization, stress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

