Imminent insanity

My temper is not just short, it’s gone on vacation.

I have reached that point where I had to look around and say what is wrong with me?  Why am I feeling this way?

I’m slowly going stir crazy in this heat wave alternating with rainy days.  I now realize…a travel trailer’s space is just enough space to begin going insane.  I cannot take it anymore.

It isn’t anyone’s fault, so we can skip that part.  It’s part of who I am.  I am intensely private, and as GM can attest, more than a little bit moody.  I’m not always a social person, and I prefer to have it on my own terms.  The fact is…I’m probably excessively reclusive.

A recluse is not best housed in a travel trailer parked in someone’s back yard.

I want some outdoor space I can claim as my own.  I want a flower bed, not a big one, but just some flowers…that we choose because we like them.

I want an herb bed because I like to use herbs, especially fresh ones.  A few vegetable plants are nice too.  I have three heirloom tomatoes growing in 5 gallon recycled buckets from cat litter.

I would like space for the dogs outdoors where I didn’t have to worry about them tangling their cables or wandering off.  It doesn’t have to be big spaces, just spaces so they can be outdoors when the weather is nice, with shade and a place to get out of the weather if they choose…where nothing is going to hurt them either.

I have launched a real estate campaign again.  We don’t have a lot of money…we don’t have the ability to finance it through a bank.  We don’t even have a down payment right now.  Okay, so it doesn’t look good for purchasing one.  But…in this market, if we find someone with distressed property that really wants rid of it…they might work with us within our parameters.

Okay, so pigs might fly too.

That’s what I said about moving to New Orleans from Arizona a decade ago…that I’d do it when pigs fly.  They flew then, as I ended up in New Orleans about 18 months later.  I figure I have a better chance of finding a lot somewhere than I did for moving to New Orleans.  I’ve done a lot of impossible things in the past decade…why not this?

Okay, so off I go…in search of cheap land with a strong likelihood of creative financing.  Obviously, it means that there is going to be things wrong with properties that fit that bill, since its unlikely that we’re going to find a seller with a philanthropic interest in helping us find real estate to put a travel trailer on.

That most likely means that anything we look at is considered “flood plain” sort of stuff, that either regularly floods or floods with a hurricane, which of course means we have to evacuate if there is even a possibility it will make landfall here.  No more waiting until the last minute, not when you have to tow your house to high ground.  That means talking to my daughter and her significant other about coming to visit, travel trailer and all, every time there is a hurricane on its way.  Located over thirty minutes of highway driving time inland, they are far away from storm surge.  I’m sure they won’t be thrilled to think of a 30′ travel trailer occupying their driveway for a week or so with an evacuation order for the coastal areas either.

We did a “drive by” on a couple of possibilities this evening.  One has a trailer that is likely in need of great renovation if it is to be livable at all, and probably needs a new septic system, which could be a massive problem in wetlands areas–we’re not sure if it is rated as wetland or not.  The trailer itself didn’t show signs of flooding on the exterior, but some of the houses in the area were showing signs of being ravaged by Katrina, standing vacant and windowless like haunted specters.  Weeds, brush, and trees were overgrown on the lot too, and we didn’t get out to investigate at all.

The second one that we managed to locate had apparently never had anything on the lot.  The trees were so thick you couldn’t see six feet into the property.  It’s actual waterfront property, which I’m not too sure about…that means gators and water moccasins too, as well as probable flooding for even a tropical storm.

This may take a while, but on the plus side…that gives us some time to save up some cash for the purchase and renovation of anything to make it livable.  With a renewed focus on trying to escape what is less-than-wonderful and make it wonderful again…I already feel more sane.  I hope it helps GM as much as it does me!

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in budget, building, financial state, interesting ideas, location, self sufficiency, stress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

