I hate summers with heat and bugs

I’m making an official announcement.  I hate summer with the continual muggy heat, the unending list of biting bugs, and the sheer misery of it all as I retreat indoors to our tiny box with air conditioning.  Small space is tight quarters when you are confined indoors most of the time.

To be honest, I think I would rather deal with snow.  At least that doesn’t sneak into the house and bite you in bed too.  This summer though, everywhere is getting this Africanized heat wave, even in cooler states like Minnesota, Montana, Colorado, New York, Maine…the list of usually-not-this-hot goes on and on.

I think  I liked the desert better too.  Granted, dry heat or not, when it hits 120 degrees Fahrenheit or higher, it’s just plain HOT, but in the desert, some shade, some water or sweat, and bingo…you cool down.  At night, the temperatures drop too.

Here on the Gulf Coast, it’s just dark and hot and humid at night.

Barring a tropical storm or hurricane, I can be the weather girl and tell you what it will be…

Hot, humid, 40% chance of rain

I guess I should be thankful for consistency, but I’m not.  I know there is three more months of this, along with the looming threat of a hurricane in the Gulf of Mexico, building up strength over the bathwater warm waters.  I am so over storm season and summer already that it’s not funny.

Yeah, baby!

Oh give me a home, where buffalo can roam, where the temperatures stay cool all day, I won’t have to sit in the shade, wondering how heat was made, while sweating buckets of water all daaaaaaaAAAaaay

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in environment, location, stress, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

