A fine line

We have been in the travel trailer for fourteen months.  During that fourteen months, it’s been parked in the rear portion of a friend’s property.  We’re hooked into their power and get our water from their well, and pay them for the power and our internet.  I’ve discovered something though.

There’s a very fine line between footloose and fancy free…and homeless.

Technically, we’re homeless.  I suppose in a lot of ways, we’re beginning to feel that way too.  Jobs are scarce, inflation is striking, and perhaps our welcome is wearing thin.  We try to keep ourselves and the dogs out of everyone’s way.  We worry.  A lot.

How long before we are more than technically homeless?

We’re not the only ones who worry about that, and a lot of people hit the homeless status with much less transitional time.  As we approach the end of the year, thousands of people are reaching the end of their unemployment too.  What then?

Like a lot of people, just a little bit of “good luck” could make a world of difference.  Instead, we’ve had the reverse–I recently ended up with a hospital stay and without insurance, that is financially devastating.  Even the prescriptions upon my release were a huge drain on our budget, with one prescription costing more than a week’s worth of groceries.

Being truly ill is a huge obstacle to actual hope, and wallowing in hopelessness is not conducive towards improving our lot in life.  Then I kick myself in the seat of the pants.

What right do I have to feel sorry for ourselves and our situation?  We still have a “home” even if it is parked in somebody’s back yard.  We still have the basic conveniences of modern life.  We have food and drinking water, we have electricity and air conditioning.  I have the medicine I need to get well.  I have a partner who loves me very much, and whom I love very much.  We still have our pets.  We are still planning our wedding for the end of the month.  We have a lot of reasons to be hopeful, reasons that a lot of people can only wish for.

I just keep eyeing that fine line, all too close to our toes these days, and Fear starts whispering in my ear.  Now Fear may be a fine companion to help us be aware of what is going on around us, but sometimes…Fear becomes our own worst enemy too.  Stepping out into life without Fear’s whispers affecting us is the best step towards a bright future that I can think of.

There are rights, there are privileges, and there is plain foolishness.  Self pity is a case of foolishness.  So, I give myself a proper dressing down for being foolish, and prepare to continue my campaign to improve things in a proactive manner.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

